When The World Was One

It's been a long time since I last heard a contemporary jazz album that I enjoyed from start to finish. Last year's Yatha Bhuta Jazz Combo was such a record, and so is the new album by Matthew Halsall & The Gondwana Orchestra. Titled “When The World Was One”, the 7-track recording features fine spiritual jazz reminiscent of Pharoah Sanders or Alice Coltrane, the latter even received a proper tribute.

1. When The World Was One
2. A Far Away Place
3. Falling Water
4. Patterns
5. Kiyomizu-Dera
6. Sagano Bamboo Forest
7. Tribute To Alice

“When The World Was One” was released last week on Gondwana Records and available in all kinds of formats from their Bandcamp store. You can stream the entire record in the player above!

PS: Oh and in case you're wondering, that beautiful artwork is courtesy of Daniel Halsall, presumably Matthew's brother.

Published on June 23, 2014

  • MMXXI © Nutriot Recordings