Ian O'Brien - Kokoro

Cover Artwork

Cover Artwork

This week Japanese label Octave Lab released two albums from one of my favourite producers Ian O'Brien. The first, Desert Scores + 1, is a reissue of the 1996's album of the same name. As the tracklist remains the same, I have no idea yet what the +1 is supposed to indicate.

The second release Kokoro (You Are Nothing Without Your Heart) is a collection of tracks that have previously been scattered on various EPs and on other people's releases (like Jazzanova's remix album). I have to say, I am most happy to see one of my all-time favourites “Monkey Jazz” is included in that selection.

1. Monkey Jazz
2. Put Your Color In Music (featuring Los Hermanos)
3. The Night Before
4. UMI
5. Night On The Promenade (featuring Kirk Degiorgio)
6. Daughters Of The Desert
7. Hipnotic - Naima (Ian O’Brien Remix)
8. Fabrice Lig - My 4 Stars (Ian O’Brien Remix)
9. Jazzanova - Days To Come (Ian O'Brien Remix)

You can already order both albums from HMV Japan, but I'm sure imports will be floating around in one or the other shop. Juno will ship an import of Kokoro on October 18, but Desert Scores + 1 appears to be sold out already. From my own experience I can recommend ordering directly from Japan, as the shipping is usually faster and also cheaper (depending on your location).

Published on September 24, 2009

  • MMXXI © Nutriot Recordings