Gonjasufi - The Caliph's Tea Party

Gonjasufi - The Caliph's Tea Party

Cover Artwork

Remix albums: a phenomena started by Sly & The Family Stone and popularized (and eventually overdone) in the nineties. Usually a collection of remixes that have been circling around on vinyl for ages, but then the only way for people who traded their turntables for a CD player to listen to them. Well, that's how it usually goes.

But then there's one of my favourite albums of the year, A Sufi And A Killer, and a label like Warp Records. How could the outcome be just usual? The announcement is now official, titled The “Caliph's Tea Party”, the remix album will drop on October 4th, 2010.

Below you can listen to the Mark Pritchard remix of Ancestors, another one by Bear In Heaven can be found here.

01. Ancestors ((Dreamtime) Mark Pritchard Remix)
02. Candylane (Bibio Remix)
03. Ageing (Dam Mantle Remix)
04. The Caliph's Tea Party (Broadcast & The Focus Group “DedNd” Remix)
05. Kobwebz (Jeremiah Jae Remix)
06. Love Of Reign (Bear In Heaven Remix)
07. She's Gone (Oneohtrix Point Never Remix)
08. Holidays (MRR Remix)
09. Change (Shlomo Remix)
10. My Only Friend (Hezus Remix)
11. DedNd (agdm Remix)
12. SuzieQ (Dem Hunger Bowel Blood Remix)

The album will be out on LP, CD and download, you can pre-order it now at the Bleep store. Also take a look at the special packaging.

Sept 27, 2010 While this isn't exactly related to the remix album, I thought you might be interested in remixing Gonjasufi yourself!

Oct 2, 2010 Stream the entire remix-album over at MMN

Published on August 16, 2010

  • MMXXI © Nutriot Recordings