Gil Scott-Heron & Jamie xx - We're New Here

While being a huge fan of Gil Scott-Heron, his latest album I'm New Here was one of my biggest disappointments this year. The “modern” approach ended up being a weak copy of Tricky's output back in the nineties and the sad shape of Gil's voice could not add anything good to that.

A year after the release, Jamie xx (of The xx) is coming up with his interpretations of 13 songs from the album. Judging from the track below, the outcome might actually be ahead of the original.

01. I'm New Here
02. Home
03. I've Been Me (Interlude)
04. Running
05. My Cloud
06. Certain Things (Interlude)
07. The Crutch
08. Ur Soul and Mine
09. Parents (Interlude)
10. Piano Player
11. NY Is Killing Me
12. Jazz (Interlude)
13. I’ll Take Care Of U

The remix album “We're New Here” will be out on February 21st, 2011, coming in a vinyl box set, CD or digital download. Pre-order your copy now and get the track above today.

Feb 21, 2010 The album is out today and the whole product looks just fantastic, especially the vinyl box-set that comes with an extra LP with the instrumentals

Published on November 29, 2010

  • MMXXI © Nutriot Recordings